Bangor University

About Bangor University

Bangor University received its Royal Charter in 1885 and was one of the founding member institutions of the former federal University of Wales. It was officially known for most of its history as the University College of North Wales, and later as the University of Wales, Bangor (Welsh: Prifysgol Cymru, Bangor). From September 2007 it became known as Bangor University, having become independent from the federal University of Wales.

Reviewers: 72

3rd in Wales

Reviews: 1,179

3rd in Wales

Merit: 3,524

3rd in Wales

Openness: 0.6%

4th in Wales

Journal Editors at Bangor University

Reviewers from Bangor University

  • Reviewer

    Igor F. Perepichka

    Igor Perepichka is a Professor of Chemistry at Bangor University, UK. He obtained his Diploma in Chemical Engineering from Donetsk Polytechnic Institute (1981) and his PhD in Organic Chemistry from the Institute of Physical Organic Chemistry of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, IPOCC NASU (1987). He started his career at IPOCC NASU in Ukraine as an engineer in 1981 and was promoted to Senior Research Scientist in 1989. He has held several visiting positions, including Alexander von Humboldt Fellow (Würzburg University, Germany, 1995–1997), Visiting Scientist (CEA Saclay, France, 1999 and CNRS, Angers, 2000–2001), Invited Professor (Angers University, 2001–2002), Senior Research Associate (Durham University, 2003–2007). In 2007 he moved to the University of Central Lancashire (Preston, UK) as Reader in Chemistry. In 2010 he was appointed as Professor of Chemistry at Bangor University, UK. His work is documented in over 100 papers in refereed journals, over 20 patents and several books and book chapters, including “Handbook of Thiophene-Based Materials: Applications in Organic Electronics and Photonics” (I. F. Perepichka, D. F. Perepichka, Two-Volumes Set, Wiley, 2009). Prof Perepichka’s field of research is organic materials chemistry. The main research activity is focused on design, synthesis and studies of novel organic pi-functional systems, from small molecules to conjugated polymeric materials, toward their applications in organic electronics, optoelectronics and photonics. Current research interests encompass the development of functional pi-conjugated systems with tailored electronic properties in view of applications in solar energy conversion, electronic and photonic devices, and nanoscience: novel conjugated pi-functional systems, reactions and methods of synthesis; conjugated polymers with tailored properties and functions; conductive, semiconductive and photoconductive pi-conjugated materials (from small molecules to oligomers and polymers); charge, electron and energy transfer processes in pi-systems; intermolecular and intramolecular charge transfer processes in pi-conjugated systems; electroactive and photoactive pi-functional systems; organic nanomaterials, supramolecular architectures and self-organized systems; organic molecular and polymeric materials for light-emitting devices, organic photovoltaics, field-effect transistors, electrochromic devices, non-linear optics, nanotechnologies, sensors/biosensors etc.

  • Reviewer

    Matt W. Hayward

    I am interested in the conservation ecology of threatened species, the factors that threaten them and the methods we can use to effectively conserve them. I have researched these conservation issues in Australia, South Africa and Poland on marsupials, rodents, reptiles, invertebrates, ungulates and large predators. I have published on predator-prey interactions, reintroduction biology, population dynamics, spatial ecology, intra-guild competition, diet, ecosystem services, conservation effectiveness and status assessments. I also have experience in conservation management (reintroduction, pest animal control, conservation fencing, fire management) and have sat on several Australian threatened species recovery teams.

    I conducted a PhD on the conservation ecology of the vulnerable quokka – a small wallaby that the introduced red fox loves to kill – in the Western Australian jarrah forest. I then conducted two post docs in South Africa; the first on bushmeat hunting in the coastal forests of the Transkei with the Walter Sisulu University, and the second at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University to study the reintroduction of lions, spotted hyaenas and a leopard to Addo Elephant National Park. After this I undertook a Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellowship at the Polish Academy of Science’s Mammal Research Institute in Białowieża Primeval Forest. Most recently I have been the Australian Wildlife Conservancy’s regional ecologist for six reserves in south-eastern Australia covering over 700,000ha and ranging from the deserts of Lake Eyre through the mallee to Sydney’s North Head where reintroduction, ecosystem services, feral eradication/control and fire management were key research issues.

  • Reviewer

    Leigh Fon Jones

    Lecturer of Inorganic and Analytical chemistry

  • Reviewer

    Sopan Patil

    Lecturer in Catchment Modelling at Bangor University.

  • Reviewer

    John Mulley

    Lecturer in Biological Sciences at Bangor University